The Sunday Post

Hello everyone,

This is Trevor, posting on Malin's blog again. For those of you who groaned when you read this, it's probably time for you to close this window now.

I am posting on Sunday this week because, as it usually goes, I forgot to write yesterday. I don't know if Malin has mentioned it in her blog or not, but I often forget things. I think it must havae something to do with the fact that I will soon be one fifth of a century old, and my brain is starting to get dusty and tired. However, since I cannot rely on getting another one, (When Malin is around I am allowed to share hers) I will have to continue using the brain that I have, in whatever functioning state it is in.

So, this week has been up and down for me. Nothing extremely out of the ordinary happened, but at the same time, it was not a boring week. I started and finished a class this week after deciding that since it was not necessary to pursue my career, I was not going to continue with it. I have worked from home most of the week, doing work on my computer and other paperwork. I have missed Malin greatly, every night has been very lonely when I cannot come home to her warm greeting. The time will pass though, and I look forward to the moment that we can be together again. Today my sister came over to the apartment where I am staying and spent the afternoon talking, getting some help with her homework from school, and eating dinner. She seemed to need a relief from her life, and as an older brother I felt like it was a service I could provide.

After deciding that I was not going to continue with the class that I was taking, I have spent some time contemplating what I will do in my spare time. Since I do not currently have Malin available in the evenings, I have felt at a bit of a loss of what to do with myself after I finish work, or on weekends. I have always had a great love of the outdoors, and have sought out different hiking trails and paths into the wilderness to find peace and quiet away from the business of the city all day long. A few times I have hiked a trail into the wilderness in the mountains above the apartment I am living in, but I prefer the open meadow and grassland to the dense forest that resides on top of the mountains here. I spent the earlier part of the afternoon in the library looking at books and maps to find where such areas might exist in places that I could travel to in a reasonable amount of time. I am looking at places that I could do a hike in over a weekend, as I will not be able to take extended periods of time off from work to go on adventures at this time. I have found a few places that will require a bit of a drive to get to, but I am hoping they will provide the adventure, peace, and relaxation that I am in search of. My goal now is to spend the evenings of the next few months at the gym, training myself and getting in shape so I am fit to undertake such journeys into the wilderness on my own. Since last year, I have lost about 10kg in body mass from not going to the gym, but it was a sacrifice I had to make when I was working during the day and studying at night. I am hoping to get my body back in shape in a few months so that I can make the most of the summer season here, travelling on weekends to do my hikes and adventures. In the time leading up to the better weather of spring and summer, I will hike the local mountains to get a feel for what it will be like to go on these adventures in the future.

But away from my ambitions, it is late at night here on the other side of the ocean and I need to prepare for bed. I will report in again to this blog next week, and you can catch up with me then, if you can stand reading the text I have been posting to this address.


Thanks to all who read.

Trevor


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0